top of page



More speakers to be confirmed

Carol T. Christ

The First Women Chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley

Keynote: Quality, Accessible Public Higher Education

Carol Tecla Christ is the 11th chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley and she is the first women chancellor in the school’s 150-year history. Known as an advocate for quality, accessible public higher education, she is also a proponent of a broad education in the liberal arts and sciences. UC President Janet Napolitano called Christ "a remarkable person, a visionary and a first" and praised her as a tireless champion of gender equality and diversity.

Eric Betzig

2014 Nobel Prize winner; Janelia Group Leader; UC Berkeley

Keynote: The Development of Super-Resolved Fluorescence Microscopy


Eric Betzig (born in 13 January 1960) is an American physicist based at the Janelia Farm Research Campus. He is noted for developing the field of fluorescence microscopy and photo-activated localization microscopy. He is also the professor specializing in biophysics at UC Berkeley. In 2014, Betzig wins the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2014.


Career Path

In 1989, Betzig was hired by AT&T Bell Laboratories in the semiconductor Physics Research Department.

In 1992, Betzig was awarded the William L. McMillan Award.

In 1993, he became the first person to image individual fluorescent molecules after inspired by Moerner’s research.

In 1996, he served as Vice President of R&D in Ann Arbor Machine Company.

In 2002, Betzig founded a firm known as New Millennium Research.

In 2005, he joined as a group leader at Janelia Farm Research Campus, developing new optical imaging technologies for biology.

In 2014, Betzig was awarded jointly the Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Stefan Hell and William E. Moerner.

David Patterson

2017 A.M. Turing Award Winner; Vice Chair of the Board of Directors of the RISC-V Foundation; UC Berkeley

Keynote: Reduced Instruction Set Computer (RISC) and Redundant Arrays of Independent Disks (RAID)


David Andrew Patterson (born November 16, 1947) currently work as Vice Chair of the Board of Directors of the RISC-V Foundation. He is also the Pardee Professor of computer science, Emeritus at UC Berkeley. He is noted for his pioneering contributions to the RISC and RAID. His work has been recognized by about 35 awards for researching, institute of Electrical and electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Association Computing Machinery (ACM), National Academy of Sciences, and the Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame.reaching and service, including the



During 2003-05, he served on the Information Technology Advisory Committee for the U.S. President (PITAC).

For 2004-06, he was elected president of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

In addition, he was also chair of the CS Division in the EECS department at Berkeley, the ACM Special Interest Group in Computer Architecture and the Computer Research Association.


Significant Awards

In 2006, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences and received the Distinguished Service Award from the Computing Research Association.

In 2007, he was named a Fellow of the Computer History Museum "for fundamental contributions to engineering education, advances in computer architecture, and the integration of leading-edge research with education."

In 2008, he won the ACM Distinguished Service Award, the ACM-IEEE Eckert-Mauchly Award, and was recognized by the School of Engineering at UCLA for Alumni Achievement in Academia.

On March 21, 2018, he was awarded the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award jointly with John L. Hennessy for developing RISC.

Please reload

bottom of page